Skip to main content

Planning Committees

The CLA Planning Committee

  • Kelly NixCommittee Director, WVU CRED Specialist
  • Thomas Bias, WVU School of Public Health
  • Michael Dougherty, WVU Extension CRED Specialist
  • Pat Smyth, WVU Extension Service, Family and Community Development
  • Paul Crumrine, WVU Extension Service, Family and Community Development
  • Jeremy Lambson, WVU Extension Service, Family and Community Development
  • Travis Mollohan, WVU State Corporate and Community Relations Director
  • Jonathan Adler, Executive Director, WVACo
  • Wes Nugent, WVU Extension Office of Communications
  • Vivian Parsons, County Commissioners’ Association
  • Chris Plein, WVU Professor of Public Administration
  • Amanda Workman, WV Community Development Hub
  • Stacy Dei, Marshall County Family Resource Network



  • Wes Nugent 
  • Kelly Nix 
  • Amanda Workman
  • Stacie Dei

Mobile Learning Tours:

  • Pat Smyth 
  • Kelly Nix
  • Susan Riddle
  • Denis Scott
  • Daniel Eades 
  • Doug Arbogast  
  • Jason Kozlowski 


  • Michael Dougherty 
  • Kelly Nix

Track Committees:

  • Leadership: Kelly Nix 
  • Good Governance: Chris Plein 
  • Community Economic Strategy: Michael Dougherty 

The CLA Advisory Council

Members of the CLA Advisory Council bring diverse expertise, making the CLA an even more meaningful experience for participants. Advisory Council members are committed to excellence in West Virginia and are well suited to help guide the CLA Planning Committee to carry out the CLA mission: To provide leadership development opportunities focused on the knowledge, collaboration, and connections that empower communities to lead West Virginia into the future.

  • Agnes Queen, President, Lewis County Commission 
  • Greg Vaughn, Mayor, Harper’s Ferry, W.Va. 
  • Katherine Garvey, Director, Land Use and Sustainable Development Law Clinic at WVU 
  • Patrick Kirby, Director, Northern West Virginia Brownfields Assistance Center at WVU 
  • Pam Farris, Executive Director, Leadership West Virginia 
  • Steve Bonanno, Dean and Director, WVU Extension Service 
  • Scott Rotruck, West Virginia Board of Education 
  • Moya Doneghy, Deputy Director, Volunteer West Virginia 
  • Natalie Roper, Executive Director, Generation West Virginia 
  • Kim Tieman, Program Officer, Claude Worthington Benedum Foundation 
  • Laura Lee Haddad, Executive Director, West Virginia Nonprofit Association 
  • Ann Bailey Berry, Assistant Vice President, Marketing and Outreach West Virginia University 
  • Patti Hamilton, Former Executive Director, WVACo Executive 
  • Matt Bond, VP Commercial Banker, United Bank